AI Specification Awards 2022

Celebrating the best in architectural ironmongery specification


Organised by the Guild of Architectural Ironmongers (GAI) in conjunction with the Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA), the biennial AI Specification Awards identify and reward excellence in the specification of architectural ironmongery in the construction industry.

Celebrating its 40th anniversary, the AI Specification Awards returns bigger and better than ever. Following the postponement of last year’s awards, the judging panel will be assessing projects completed and products launched over the last 3 years!

Entries are judged on the effectiveness of the architectural ironmongery specification and how it enhances the security, accessibility and safety of the building, whilst also adding to its aesthetics, functionality and longevity.


Commercial & Hospitality Award – Shortlist

(Sponsored by ASSA ABLOY)

  • Aldwark Manor Estate Hotel, York
    Architect: Studio Map
    Architectural Ironmonger: Em-B Solutions
  • Grantley Hall, Ripon
    Architect: Bowman Riley
    Architectural Ironmonger: Em-B Solutions
  • Heckfield Place, Hampshire
    Architect: Spratley & Partners
    Architectural Ironmonger: John Planck Ltd
  • Vintry & Mercer Hotel, London
    Architect: Dexter Moren Associates
    Architectural Ironmonger: Yannedis

Residential Award – Shortlist

(Sponsored by Frank Allart & Co Ltd)

  • Chelsea Barracks Luxury Apartments (Phase 1), London
    Architect: HBA Architects with Squire + Partners
    Architectural Ironmonger: izé ltd
  • Lancer Square, London
    Architect: Squire + Partners
    Architectural Ironmonger: Franchi plc
  • Regent’s Crescent, London
    Architect: PDP London
    Architectural Ironmonger: John Planck Ltd
  • The Rectory, East Church
    Architect: Nick Auston Design
    Architectural Ironmonger: SDS London Ltd

Public Health & Education Award – Shortlist

(Sponsored by Forza Doors Ltd)

  • 142-146 Harley Street, London
    Architect: Sonnemann Toon Architects
    Architectural Ironmonger: 3v Architectural Hardware Ltd
  • Bath Abbey
    Architect: Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios
    Architectural Ironmonger: Allgood plc
  • Cambridge Mosque
    Architect: Marks Barfield Architects
    Architectural Ironmonger: d line Eisenware Ltd
  • National Automotive Innovation Centre (NAIC), Warwick University
    Architect: Cullinan Studio
    Architectural Ironmonger: Allgood plc

International Award – Shortlist

(Sponsored by dormakaba)

  • The Secretariat, Yangon
    Architect: RBA Architects with Conservation Consultants
    Architectural Ironmonger: Key Technologies International Ltd
  • Xiqu Centre, Hong Kong
    Architect: Ronald Lu & Partners
    Architectural Ironmonger: Key Technologies International Ltd
  • Z33 Gallery, Belgium
    Architect: Francesca Torzo Architetto
    Architectural Ironmonger: izé ltd

Product Design & Innovation Mechanical Award – Shortlist

(Sponsored by Simonswerk)

  • Complete Sealing System for Sliding Doors
    Manufacturer: Norseal Ltd
  • DC6113 – Slimline transom door control
    Manufacturer: ASSA ABLOY
  • Fat Collection
    Manufacturer: d line Eisenware Ltd
  • UNION CodeGUARD5 – High security push button lockset
    Manufacturer: ASSA ABLOY

Product Design & Innovation Electronic Award – Shortlist

(Sponsored by ADSA)

  • DC300G-HF – Electro-mechanical Hold-Open Free Swing Door Control
    Manufacturer: ASSA ABLOY
  • KitLock KL1100 locker lock
    Manufacturer: Codelocks
  • Neo Cylinder
    Manufacturer: Salto Systems
  • Virtual Engineer
    Manufacturer: Strand Technologies

Jubilee Award – Shortlist

(Sponsored by Eurobond Doors)

  • Adare Manor Hotel and Golf Resort, Limerick
    Architect: Reardon Smith
    Architectural Ironmonger: Mooney Architectural & Harbrine
  • Centre Point, London
    Architect: Conran & Partners
    Architectural Ironmonger: Allgood plc
  • Hong Kong International Airport
    Architect: Foster + Partners
    Architectural Ironmonger: Allgood plc and Key Technologies International Ltd
  • Kings Gate, London
    Architect: Lynch Architects
    Architectural Ironmonger: izé ltd
  • Rose Lodge, Hebburn
    Architect: MAAP
    Architectural Ironmonger: Laidlaw Solutions
  • Royal Opera House, London
    Architect: BDP & Dixon Jones
    Architectural Ironmonger: John Planck Ltd
  • Scottish National Portrait Gallery, Edinburgh
    Architect: Page Park
    Architectural Ironmonger: Allgood plc
  • Tate Britain, London
    Architect: Caruso St John
    Architectural Ironmonger: Allgood plc

For each category in the awards there will be a first placed project. All of the Category Winners will be put forward to be judged to decide who will be crowned the overall ‘Winner of Winners’ (sponsored by GEZE UK).